Half Truths = Whole Lies

I’ll be honest: I hate politics. Call me naive, but I never really know who to trust. And I especially hate Presidential Elections because everything just feels so unrealistic. It’s no wonder so many people don’t vote!

I, like many other Americans, want to be informed about who I am electing to represent me in government. But the game of politics just makes it so darn hard. This is especially true for our current election which has almost been deduced to a petty beauty pageant as the candidates continue to twist and contort any word his opponent utters. And though we may not have the most eloquent orators running for the oval office (that seems to be Mitt Romney’s excuse for everything), voters should not have to dig deep and conduct a game of “Who Done It?” for the facts to reign true. The irresponsible responses from both Romney and Obama are EXHAUSTING! For example, Obama’s use of Romney’s 47-percent comment in one of his latest ads really left a bad taste in my mouth. In many ways Romney’s comments had a lot of truth to them; most people that receive an earned income tax credit (a big portion of what makes up this 47-percent) will not vote for Romney. The omission of the whole truths and continual play on the facts is evident of the irresponsibility of each party to its voters.

So though I will be voting in the upcoming election, my decision unfortunately won’t be as heavily based on who presented the best ideas and solutions to our current issues. Instead, my vote will be based on which candidate feels like the better decision in my gut because no one is telling the full truth here.

Out of context out of bounds? Not in 2012 By Halimah Abdullah, CNN

http://cnn.com/video/#/video/politics/2012/09/24/ns-spencer-new-obama-ad.cnn

 

Uriah Johnson

About rowlanda12

This is a blog about the 2012 presidential election. Content is generated by students in Professor Heldman's Politics 101 class. She does not necessarily endorse the views expressed here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

